Gail Godwin, novelist

Event time: 
Thursday, April 7, 2005 - 12:15pm
Event description: 

Part of the 2005 Literature and Spirituality Series

Yale Divinity Bookstore, 409 Prospect Street, New Haven.

Followed by a book-signing and reception.

Gail Godwin (BA Journalism from UNC Chapel Hill, 1959; MA and Ph.D. in English from the U. of Iowa, 1971) is the author of 12 novels, 2 story collections, and a work of non-fiction, Heart: A Natural History of the Heart-Filled Life. Three novels, The Odd Woman, A Mother and Two Daughters,and Violet Clay were National Book Award nominees. A Southern Familywon the Janet Heidiger Kafka Award and the Thomas Wolfe Memorial Literary Award. Father Melancholy’s Daughter and its sequel Evensong were New York Times bestsellers. Her novella, Evenings at Five, was published in 2003, and her new novel, Queen of the Underworld, about a young woman journalist in Miami in 1959, will be published in January 2006 simultaneously with Vol I of a diary/memoir: The Making of a Writer. Her awards include a Guggenheim Fellowship, two grants (one for fiction and one for libretto writing) from the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.