Yale Camerata Advent Concert

Event time: 
Saturday, December 3, 2011 - 3:00pm
Event description: 

Dona nobis pacem

Music of Bach, Telemann, Victoria, Kyr, Masko, and Willcocks

An Advent Concert conducted by Marguerite L. Brooks


Soloists from the graduate voice program, James Taylor, director

Lisa Rautenberg, violin

Ellen Higham, viola

Marjorie Shansky, flute

Olav Van Hezewijk, oboe

Andrew Grenci, clarinet

Kenneth Tedeschi, trumpet

Mihai Marica, cello

Stephen Rapp, organ

Martin Jean, organ


Battell Chapel


Yale Camerata, under the direction of Marguerite L. Brooks, will give its annual Advent concert on Saturday, December 3 at 8pm in Battell Chapel in New Haven (corner College and Elm).

Robert Kyr’s The Annunciation was commissioned by the Yale Institute of Sacred Music from the Robert Baker Commissioning Fund for Sacred Music, and is dedicated to Marguerite Brooks and the Yale Camerata.  According to the composer, “the six movements of the work tell the story of the Annunciation by the angel Gabriel to Virgin Mary that she will conceive a child through the Holy Spirit and the “power of the Most High” (Luke 1: 35). The text for the cantata is based on Old and New Testament sources [Isaiah (7: 14; 35: 5-8; 64: 1, 4) and Luke (1: 28-37, 46-53)], as well as excerpts from two Nativity Hymns (II and XII) by the 4th century theologian St. Ephrem the Syrian.”

The program also includes two settings of O Magnum Mysterium, one by Victoria and one by J.J. Masko; Bach’s beloved cantata Wachet auf! and the Dona nobis pacem from the Mass in B Minor; and a concerto of Telemann. The concert will conclude, in its annual tradition, with the Willcocks arrangement of Goss’s See, amid the Winter’s Snow, with the Camerata joined by the audience.

The concert, presented by Yale Institute of Sacred Music, is free; no tickets are required. More information is at 203.432.5062.